Yahoo & MySpace

Microsoft is wanting to take over Yahoo. To avoid this, Yahoo is considering partnering with News Corp. News Corp. owns MySpace. And now I can’t email from my Gmail account the word MySpace to a Yahoo email account. WHAT???????

In my signature is my MySpace profile address. This afternoon I went to send an email to a Yahoo user. Out of the blue, the email came back to me with this error message.

“Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 16): 554 Message not allowed – UP Email not accepted for policy reasons. Please visit http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/mail/defer/defer-04.html[120]

So, I tried again. And again. Then I tried other Yahoo email addresses. Those bounced back as well. Then I took out the MySpace part of my signature and the emails went through. Please, someone explain to me what is going on and how any of this makes sense.  Kthnxbai!

3 responses to “Yahoo & MySpace

  1. Probably an anti-spam measure that just -happens- to involve links that come from a competitor (though if News Corp. buys Yahoo, you probably won’t have any issues in the future 🙂

  2. This is happening to me, but I couldnt figure it out till I google your post. When I took myspace.com out of the signature everything worked. This is strange, but thanks for pointing out what it was.

  3. maybe it’s just a gentle reminder of how unpleasant a place myspace is? I personally hate going to my myspace page, it’s more of a chore than anything else. Real websites FTW!

Leave a Reply

