MGMT

On my last night in Austin, I saw a band called MGMT play. They were a great live show and I was intrigued with their sound. Its almost psychedelic yet electronic. The lead singer has a distinct voice that reminds me of someone but I can’t quite put my finger on it. After checking out their website, I was blown away with how they started. They were just experimenting in college with different funky sounds…playing live 15 minute shows, never planning on becoming a recorded group. Their original goal was to write songs that people hated. “Some songs we wrote just because we wanted to learn how to be really bad within a certain genre and then people started liking the song because they liked the genre. It was an accident that people started liking us.”

They have released a full album Oracular Spectacular. I’ve been listening to “Time to Pretend” on repeat since I got back home. Check out their MySpace to sample some songs. They also have some videos up on YouTube.  I hope you enjoy as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

